Skip to content

Poem – Taking another, Climbing under

31/10/2012

Taking another, Climbing under
By Beth Elderkin

I was not meant to be alone
And yet, here I am
Blinking morse with my shadow
While stars crease my skin

I had a line
Drawn, carved

So what am I this time:
An apron and heels in the kitchen?
Pigeon codes?
The clock about to chatter?

I refuse, yet embrace my role
Of catching flies
With toothcombs
A whimper echoes beside me
The shadow speaks

That which is not me tells more than I ever could

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

