Skip to content

‘Seasons of Love’ — RENT showcase

14/10/2012

A couple of years ago, I got to cross something very important off my bucket list: Star in a musical as an adult. Thanks to the wonderful people at Monterey Peninsula College, in 2010, I had the honor of playing Maureen in the 2010 debut performance of RENT.

To be honest, I only went to the audition because a couple of my friends were going — I didn’t think I would ever get a part in the show. I hadn’t been in a musical since I was a child. I had performed in some black box theater in college, but my only real performing experience was with my band, Third Eclipse.

Luckily, director Gary Bolen was looking for something different with this show, and he gave me a chance despite my lack of formal acting experience or training. I’ll never forget him for that.

I can say with absolute confidence that this show was one of the most pivotal experiences of my life. It defined me, inspired me and changed me. It may not have caused me to change my career path (although it did give me the confidence to pursue broadcasting as a possible career choice in the future), but it showed me that I really can do anything if I set my mind to it.

I want to thank Gary, and the cast and crew for everything you did for me. You changed my life more than you’ll ever know.

As a way to say thank you, I uploaded several songs from the show and put them here. As of now, they’re all songs following Maureen’s appearance, but I likely will add more from the first act in the future. Videos are in order of appearance. I love you all; Viva la vie boheme.

Over The Moon


La Vie Boheme (A & B)


Seasons Of Love


Happy New Year A & B


Take Me Or Leave Me


I’ll Cover You (Reprise)


Finale B

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

