Skip to content

My Life In Stats: Moving To Texas

15/07/2012

As some of you may know, I recently moved to Kerrville, Texas in order to start my new job as staff writer at The Kerrville Daily Times. It was a three-day journey that took me across California, Arizona and New Mexico before landing me smack-dab in the middle of the Lone Star State.

I will admit that the three-day move affected me more than I thought it would. It gave me a chance to be alone for a long period of time, traveling hundreds of miles on long, dusty roads with minimal contact with other human beings. In addition, I was able to appreciate the unique (and hot!) beauty of the Southwest, something I had never really experienced before. I really had a life-changing experience; which was fitting, seeing as how it was essentially preparing me for another life-changing experience.

Here are a few of the highlights:

  • I went from a state with 65MPH highways to one with 80MPH highways; however, to make Mom happy, I stayed at 75MPH the whole drive
  • Number of semi-trucks that passed me: FOUR (including one that passed me twice!)
  • San Diego’s ComicCon traffic made me (temporarily) hate the famous gamer’s convention
  • I saw wild Cacti for the first time in my life
  • The motel I stayed at in New Mexico (Big Chile Inn) gave me free chips and salsa when I checked in. However, they also were playing Fox News on my room’s TV, which wasn’t as cool
  • I was pulled over by a cop in Texas, because I didn’t know the left lane was “passing only.”
  • Said cop asked if I had any guns or knives; I told her I had pepper spray, which she was fine with
  • I drove through about five minutes of torrential rain pour, which disappeared so quickly it felt like a sad scene in a music video
  • Kerrville is nice, and I’m happy here
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

