Skip to content

how to be a teen witch

26/02/2012

I was about 12 years old when I first saw 80’s teen sorcery flick “Teen Witch.” Bad acting, cheesy dialogue and bizarrely placed musical numbers (including infamous “Top That” rap) aside, I remember being fascinated with the idea of literally being able to get whatever you wanted just by making it appear … with magic.

For several years after, I had the secret desire to become my own teen witch; to learn how to use magical spells, incantations and other forms of magick arts. Since I was a devout Christian, I couldn’t dream of actually following through with it because I was afraid of the whole, well, “heck” thing. But the desire lingered.

Until recently, I didn’t really understand why I was tempted to become a teen witch. It just seemed so cool to me and I didn’t know why. But I think I’ve finally figured it out.

As a teenager, there are a lot of things that you feel should be in your control, but aren’t because you’re not really ready for them. Responsibility, life-altering decision-making, romance, intellect — these are all things you can’t really comprehend and respect until you reach adulthood.

That being said, as a teenager stuck in the frustrations of childhood without having the freedom of adulthood, it’s easy to feel like you have no control over your life.

Control = power.

Power = magic.

Magic = awesome.

I think that’s why the whole teen witch idea appealed to me so much, because it was an element of control. The girls in “Teen Witch,” “The Craft,” even that horrendous made-for-tv film “Teen Sorcery” (which I magically found a hilarious online review of — how is that even possible?) all had control over their own lives through the use of magic.

So in my frustrated and immature teenage mind, I assumed magic would give me control over my own life. Of course this isn’t true, either because that type of magic doesn’t exist or, even if it did, it certainly wouldn’t work for an ignorant amateur like myself — but still, it still was an appealing option to feeling powerless over the changes in my mind, my heart and my being.

Fast forward to now: I have no desire to be a witch, a wiccan or follow any form of that belief system. I have respect for those who follow the Craft, but for me it was just a fad … like it is for many teenage girls. Mainly because, since I am truly responsible for my own decisions, I don’t need that element of power in order to have control over my own life. Magick sounds like fun when you’re powerless, but true power comes with time, experience and perspective. I still watch “The Craft,” though, because it’s a pretty cool movie.

And I would, like, still totally love to be the most popular girl.

If you want to see a really funny review of Teen Witch by That Guy With the Glasses’ Nostalgia Chick, find the link here

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

