Skip to content

wine wednesday – 12 signs scorpio pinot noir

27/10/2011

The hint of spice brings out your eyes.

So this Friday is my 26th birthday. As most of you may not know, my specific birthday (10.28.85) was during a full moon. Combined with the fact that I’m a Scorpio, which is a pretty intense astrological sign to begin with; let’s just say I’ve got a pretty good handle on the whole “awesomely terrible scorpion” thing.

I’m sure most of my exes would agree!

So when I was thinking about how to celebrate my upcoming birthday, I couldn’t help but remember this tasty wine I tried a couple months ago. It was the 2009 12 Signs Scorpio Pinot Noir from Santa Maria Valley ($35).

It has a nice light red color with a pretty pink halo. The nose and taste were light and fruity, bright red cherry with cinnamon and spice. While it wasn’t an amazing wine, it was still pleasant to drink and could easily be enjoyed with some spicy bruschetta or stuffed mushrooms.

What I really loved about this wine was how it was marketed. The 12 Signs wine company made a different wine for each zodiac, pairing the type of grape with the personality of the person drinking it. For me and other Scorpios (as well as our more sensitive counterparts, Cancers and Pisces) that wine was a Pinot Noir, since the generally sensual nature of this light but passionate grape appeals to our Water-sign nature.

“It’s no doubt that the Scorpio has a high dose of sex appeal … so it only makes sense that their wine would be complex, elegant, and charming, just like this ‘passion in a glass’ Pinot Noir,” said the 12 Signs website.

Other wines include Chardonnay for Geminis, Libras and Aquarians, since Air signs are versatile and intelligent … just like the Chardonnay grape. Fire signs such as Leo, Aries and Sagittarius got an Old Vine Zin, to reflect their hot and spicy tempers. And finally, the Earth-based signs Taurus, Virgo and Capricorn have a full-bodied “earthy” Cabernet Sauvignon.

Again, the wines aren’t the best I’ve ever tasted – they’re all right at best. But I really like how the company marketed and promoted the wine. It made me feel like they were marketing uniquely to me, which makes me feel special.

And so close to my birthday, I like feeling special.

Well, here’s to a bright star path for your future. And if you happen to be near San Diego on Friday, feel free to bring me some Pinot for my birthday. Preferably a bottle with a big blue scorpion on it.

p.s. the lead pic is an homage to the Ryan Gosling feminist. to make one of your own, visit this blog!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 27/10/2011 16:13

    Is that 12 signs Scorpio better than the Malbec from The 3rd Corner?
    And now I am going to have to try the 12 Signs Old Vine Zin… 😉 Happy early birthday. I will be in costume downtown Friday and Saturday nights if you feel like going out? Just me and my buddy.
    Cheers and congratulations on your getting the iPad games blogger… title may be off but I saw the good news lol

Trackbacks

  1. Wine Wednesday – 12 Signs Scorpio Pinot Noir « Digital T-Rex

Leave a Reply

