Skip to content

saturday’s sip : stonehedge 2009 old vine zinfandel

24/09/2011

loving life with wine

Damn it feels good to be a senior.

Not a senior citizen, mind you … I have at least 3 to 5 years before that happens. Rather, to be a senior at my university, San Diego State. If you’d asked me two years ago where I would be today, I don’t imagine I would have even thought of saying at my wonderful apartment in Hillcrest, San Diego with great friends, a wonderful boyfriend and a fantastic education.

Learning about journalism has become a passion, a drive and a favored love of mine. I’ve never felt more motivated in my entire life.

That being said, I still haven’t forgotten another one of my biggest loves of all: Wine. Scrumptious, delicious wine. And in the interest of celebrating life, love and all that is good in the world, I decided to treat myself with a little bottle of vino.

2009 Stonehedge Old Vine Zinfandel

 

The wine is the 2009 Stonehedge Old Vine Zinfandel from Russian River Valley ($9.95, Trader Joe’s). It clocks in with 14.4% alcohol, which is rather steep for the region in my opinion, but perhaps it was a warmer season. Climate change and all.

The color on the wine is surprisingly light for a zinfandel, a sort of shallow red-violet color with touches of rose and light pink on the halo. The nose is distinctly California – fruity, jammy and sweet. There’s a notable touch of red raspberry, as well as a hint of earth that comes through on a deep inhalation. You can almost smell the alcohol though, which tends to bother me just a bit.

The taste that comes onto my tongue with this zinfandel is raspberry jam with a little unripened strawberry, rhubarb and white pepper. It tastes like a jam I would love to try – as a wine, it’s not as desirable a flavor but I still enjoy it. It just tastes a little too much of California heat, which often turns wines into overly jammy fruit-fests that fail to enhance the earthy and natural tones of the wine. It has very little spice, and is more akin to a light syrah than anything else. There’s a bit of clay-like earth on the finish, but not much.

All in all, it’s okay but not great. It’s obviously a California zinfandel, and not a fantastic one at that, but it’s still of a palatable quality that’s enjoyable with spicier cuisine. And I’m still going to drink the whole bottle.

Hey, it’s the weekend.

One Comment leave one →
  1. 27/09/2011 00:31

    Jainomo! Yay you’re back! Nice notes on the wine.

Leave a Reply

