Skip to content

red hair and red wine

03/09/2009

Don’t you just love/hate when you know the answer to something (like on Jeopardy or during a verbal quiz) but for some reason you don’t spout it out?

Christopher, a sommelier at Cantinella Luca’s in Carmel CA (and my boyfriend’s dad) brought over a couple of wines for us to enjoy with the lunch we had prepared for them (sauteed potatoes and veggies, followed by an heirloom caprese salad … delish). He decided to give both of us a taste test on the red wine that he brought with him, to help us with our palates. 
Here’s a better picture of the bottle itself:
Put your pencils down. It’s time to begin.  
This was a medium-bodied red, its silky-smooth body accompanied by a deep burgundy red color with a fuschia halo. The bouquet had subtle oak with a touch of vanilla and LOTS of deep red cherry. The first note I got upon tasting this wine was a sour red cherry, but it quickly smoothed out into heavy notes of ripe plum, blackberry and vanilla.
Overall, a fabulous and smooth tasting wine that is easily drinkable. 
Julien guessed a Pinot Noir, to which he got a resounding NO. I was thinking it was a Merlot in my mind, but I was almost sure I was wrong so I didn’t say anything.
Well, I was right. 
To be exact, it’s the 2004 Kermesse, created by Elena Walch in Tramin, Italy. It’s primarily a Merlot blended with touches of Cabernet Sauvignon, Petit Verdot, Syrah and Lagrein. I couldn’t even find a price tag on it, so it’s probably not available in this half of the world. That’s too bad, because I definitely recommend it to anyone who’s been turned off by Merlot in the past (I’m looking at you, ‘Sideways’), because it’s a completely different experience than a New World Merlot. Much smoother and more emphasis on soft berry fruits, which I adore.
Damn. I knew I should’ve said something. Well, that’s what I get for keeping my mouth shut.
3 Comments leave one →
  1. KASHMIR-THE PARADISE permalink
    03/09/2009 15:06

    Oh the wine in goblet is looking good.

    Cheers (-.-)

    World up.

  2. 3dees permalink
    18/09/2009 00:05

    Nice concept for a blog. I connected through 20SB. Being a wine rookie, I gotta ask
    1. What’s the halo? The stain/mark left by the wine?
    2. How can you tell that all those flavors are in there i.e. plum, blackberry and vanilla
    3. What does medium-bodied mean?

    I could probably look these up in google, but I think you might prefer me asking you about your work.

  3. Jainomo permalink
    07/10/2009 01:37

    Hey 3dees!

    Sorry I didn’t see these q’s before. I’m gonna answer them in a new blog entry … check above!

Leave a Reply

